Tree Farm Certification

Texas Forestry

A Forest Certification Program  


"To promote the growing of renewable forest resources on private lands while protecting environmental benefits and increasing public understanding of all benefits of productive forestry."

A Tree Farm is at least 10 acres of forestland under management, with an implemented plan that accounts for water quality, wildlife habitat and soil conservation, as well as production of forest products. Established in 1941, the American Tree Farm System is the oldest and largest forest certification program in the United States.

By constantly seeking expert advice on sustainable forestry practices, Tree Farmers make good decisions for their land that will sustain their forest for generations to come.

Texas Tree Farm is co-sponsored by Texas Forestry Association, a task force of 30 foresters and landowners comprise the Texas Tree Farm Committee. The Committee meets at least four times per year to distribute recertification forms and plan the Tree Farm events for the year. Communications and outreach programs initiated from the Tree Farm Committee include the Outstanding Tree Farmer of the Year contest and Tree Farm promotion through printed ads and other means as provided by grant funding from the American Forest Foundation.

For more information about Tree Farm, download the Texas Tree Farm brochure.

Leadership/Area Chair List

CHAIRMAN

Jason Ellis
Texas A&M Forest Service
1915 SE Loop 456
Jacksonville, Texas 75766
(903) 586-7545
(903) 586-7505 fax
jellis@tfs.tamu.edu

VICE CHAIRMAN

Michael Easley
Texas A&M Forest Service
1605 W. Loop 304
Crockett, TX 75835
936/544-7798
936/544-4369
measley@tfs.tamu.edu

CO-SPONSOR/ ADMINISTRATOR

Susan Stutts
Texas Forestry Association
P.O. Box 1488
Lufkin, TX 75902-1488
936/632-8733
936/632-9461 fax
sstutts@texasforestry.org

AREA 1

Kelby Wolf
Texas A&M Forest Service
P.O. Box 1000
Pittsburg, TX 75686
903/856-7181
903/856-9033 fax
kwolf@tfs.tamu.edu

AREA 2

Justin Kendall
Texas A&M Forest Service
5700 Karnack Highway
Marshall, TX 75672
903/938-8712
jkendall@tfs.tamu.edu

AREA 3

OPEN

AREA 4

Taylor Wilson
Farmers National Company
P.O. Box 623
Jacksonville, TX 75766
903/586-9375
903/586-0150 fax
TWilson@farmersnational.com 

AREA 5

Robin Willhoite
United Timber Management Co.
P.O. Box 838
Timpson, TX 75975
936/254-2554
936/936-254-3775 fax
forester@unitedtimber.com

AREA 6

Michael Easley
Texas A&M Forest Service
1605 W. Loop 304
Crockett, TX 75835
936/544-7798
936/544-4369
measley@tfs.tamu.edu

AREA 7

Caleb Murray
WestRock
269 Ironwood Lane
Diboll, TX 75941
409/207-2106
caleb.murray@westrock.com

AREA 8

Glen Dirksmeyer
Georgia-Pacific, LLC
P.O. Box 47
Camden, Texas 75934
936/398-7372

AREA 9

Bob Harper
Harper Forestry, LLC
13843 Hwy 105 West, Suite 213
Conroe, Texas 77304
936/588-6778
bob@harperforestry.com

Download Tree Farm map (pdf) to determine your Area location.